Walking with Jesus is not…

Walking with Jesus is not about trying harder to be holy. It’s about admitting that you don’t have what it takes to be holy. Walking with Jesus is not about getting stronger when facing problems. It’s about asking for more help to face those problems. It’s not about becoming a better you. It’s about becoming more and more His kid.
– Lee Younger

Someone once asked me, “Why are you so good? You need to be corrupted a little!” Now I admit, I tend to come off as a perfectionist, teacher’s pet and all-round good girl… But I also happen to know my worst points, my ugliness, my weaknesses. And believe me, its not that I choose to hide them, but if you really knew me – this is what you’d find. I know I’m not good. I know just how bad I can be. That’s why I need Jesus. If I were perfect, why would I need God? No, I need God because I know just how imperfect I am. People tend to think Christians are all so holy, so good people – and that if you’re not up to standards like them, you’d be judged by them. The truth is, the people in church are just the same as those who are not – but have also chosen to seek help from the One that is perfect. Jesus came for the liars, the cheaters, the murders, the guilty, the broken, the sick, the ones that rejected Him, the ones that killed Him. He loved us so much He chose to die, so that we could have a new life, one where you can be free from these things that torment you. After knowing Him for a mere 2 years, I’m not an expert by any means – but I can say my life has changed drastically and for the better.

This is the core of Christianity, and also the most easily misunderstood aspect. It’s my prayer that people might come to know the truth 🙂 Food for thought?


Leave a comment